Now you can mention another user in Google Docs within the document itself. Whenever you have mentioned another user in Google Docs, you can hover over their name to preview their information and suggested actions like adding that person to Contacts or reaching out via email. But this feature only limited to Google Workspace customers.
Read Also: G Suite now become Google Workspace
When you mentioned another user or someone in a document, it will not send them a notification. Also, if you mention a user who does not have access to the document, then you will receive a prompt with sharing suggestions. In that time you can share the document or decline and use the regular Docs sharing function when the time is right.