Today, WhatsApp introducing the new disappearing messages feature and it will be rolling out to users this month. Disappearing messages will let WhatsApp users enable it on chat conversation between friends. This feature allowing users to delete WhatsApp chats automatically after seven days means when you enable this option in chats (as an individual), or in groups (as an admin) will be able to enable disappearing messages in group chats.
After you enabled disappearing messages, it will delete chats automatically after seven days. This deleting is including your all photos and video will wipe out after seven days. If you don’t want to use this feature then you can disable, so you can keep your chats or photos and videos. For some people it might be a useful feature, but not for everyone. Keep in mind, if you do not open WhatsApp in the seven days, the message will completely disappear, so it’s your risk to turned on this feature.
Also, when you forward a disappearing message to a chat with the disappearing messages feature turned off, then it won’t be displayed in the forwarded chat. And when you create a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup, but once you restore that backup it will be deleted.
Meanwhile, if you like this feature and don’t want to disappear, then you should have to take a screenshot of those chats or photos/videos and save it to a secure place, or you can copy and save those content before disappearing.
If you set auto-download photos and videos in WhatsApp settings, and the disappearing messages feature turned on, then the media sent in the chats will disappear. You need to think before turn on/off auto-download media in WhatsApp settings, but it’s not recommended, because when you turn on auto-download media it will directly save those media content to your device. You can turn of the auto-download media options in WhatsApp settings from Data and Storage Usage option.